Music In Focus: “Chasing Pavements”

Isn’t it ironic that I named this blog ‘daily’ raven when there is about a week-or-two interval between posts? I know, I am disappointing myself too. The urge to write has been rarely knocking my failing mind. I will try, in the succeeding days, to talk more.

But enough sentiments, today’s blog will be one of the series of blog posts which I baptized the name “LSS Weeks”. Each Blog Posts, as the title suggests(Last Song Syndrome), will be about songs that kept playing in my head for about a week.

19

Album cover of 19

This week’s LSS Song is by the great soul singer, Adele. The song is called Chasing Pavements from the album ‘19‘ and was released as a single on January 11, 2008. There was a huge debate as to what the lyrics of the song means. Several radio stations banned this songbecause of the perceived meaning of the words “chasing pavements” referring to the singer chasing gay men. The source of the perceived meaning is said to come from an entry submitted to Urban Dictionary.

Nevertheless, the controversy never altered the way I look into the lyrics of the song. In my viewpoint, the song merely means working out a broken relationship. I definitely loved the song. It has a really soothing vocal component and the entire atmosphere of the song is very relaxing. That is maybe why the song kept repeating in my head. This week was very stressful and I just want to have a rest from everything that is going around.

 

Here is the official music video of Chasing Pavements by Adele:

 

Several artists have also done a cover of Adele’s song. One of which is a 15-year old, Thia Megia who sang this song during her audition for American Idol Season 10. Watch her version below:

 

One of YouTube’s discoveries was Gabe Bondoc, another Filipino who generally sings acoustic versions of songs and some of his original songs. One of the songs he did was Adele’s Chasing Pavements. See video below:

 

And there you have it. The LSS Song of the week. I hope you enjoy the song as much as I enjoyed it. God bless everyone!

  1. I thought this was a fantastic blog, not only great writing but it has a great layout, well done.

  1. May 2nd, 2011
  2. July 17th, 2011

Leave a Reply

